Thursday Sport: Popular stopper scoops three club awards

GOALKEEPER Ben Chapman, pictured below, came away from Leek Town’s annual presentation evening with his hands full of awards.

The 26 year old popular stopper, who was once on Manchester City’s books, scooped the manager’s, players’ and supporters’ player of the season trophies at the event held at Vale Park.

Chapman is the first Blues player to gain all three awards since defender Andy Taylor in 2010/11.

Leek face a series of new destinations on their travels in the Evo-stik Northern Premier League next season.

Five new teams have joined Division One South for the 2017/18 campaign including Corby Town and Ilkeston, relegated from the Premier Division, and Midland League Premier League champions Alvechurch.

The other two newcomers are Cleethorpes Town from the Northern Counties Eastern League and Peterborough Sports from the United Counties League.

AFC Rushden and Diamonds have returned to Division One (Central) of the Southern League.

Division One South 2017/18 season: Alvechurch, Basford United, Bedworth United, Belper Town, Carlton Town, Chasetown, Cleethorpes Town, Corby Town, Gresley FC, Ilkeston, Kidsgrove Athletic, Leek Town, Lincoln United, Loughborough Dynamo, Market Drayton Town, Newcastle Town, Peterborough Sports, Romulus, Sheffield, Spalding United, Stamford, Stocksbridge Park Steels.

The new league season will commence on Saturday, August 12.