Premier Division champions lift Barney McArdle Trophy

PORTHILL Park won the Barney McArdlle Trophy Twenty20 competition contested by last year’s champions of the top four divisions in the North Staffordshire and South Cheshire League.


The Premier Division title holders beat host club Burslem, the Division One champions, by eight wickets in the final at Festival Heights on Bank Holiday Monday.

Porthill had earlier seen off Division Three table-toppers Meakins 2nds by 84 runs in their semi-final clash.

Moorlands interest centred on Caverswall, last year’s Division Two champions, who were beaten by Burslem by 22 runs at the semi-final stage.

BURSLEM 123-8 (Saad Qureshi 22, Michael Brown 27; Tharaka Waduge 2-20, Tom Caton 2-22); CAVERSWALL 101-7 (Karl Cassidy 29, Greg Phillips 27no; Junaid Qureshi 3-10).

Pictured above: Caverswall’s new overseas professional Tharaka Waduge.