Cricket Cave T20 Cup holders beaten in this year’s final

NO-ONE tried harder than Rizwan Haider to keep 2016 Cricket Cave T20 Cup winners Checkley’s grip on the trophy for another year.

Haider scored half-centuries against Wood Lane and Longton respectively on finals day, but it wasn’t to be for the club’s overseas professional.

The Pakistan all-rounder weighed in with an unbeaten 84 runs against Wood Lane in the semi-finals and then followed up with 52 more against Longton in the final.

In a tense finish Longton snatched the trophy out of Checkley’s grasp with just one ball to spare in the last over.

Results (16/07/17:-


CHECKLEY 182-5 (Michael Allen 63, Rizwan Haider 84no; Oliver Perry 4-38); STONE SP 177-5 (Sam Graham 82, Jack Davies 44, Matthew Coxon 31no; Richard Cooper 4-33). Checkley won by 5 wickets.

WOOD LANE 123-8 (Deane Jervis 32, Alex Coates 27; Ryan Ellwell 4-31); LONGTON 124-5 Alex Thorley 44, Dan Cumming 22). Longton won by 5 wickets.


CHECKLEY 119-6 (Rizwan Haider 52, Josh Hewitt 32no); LONGTON 120-4 (Alex Thorley 34, David Wheeldon (60no; Nick Hubble 3-29). Longton won by 6 wickets.