Thursday Sport: Minor counties cricket returning to Checkley

CHECKLEY Cricket Club, who hosted minor counties fixture for the first time this year, have been invited to stage another Unicorns Championship clash in 2018.

Staffordshire will face Cambridgeshire in the Eastern Division at the Four Trees ground  in July.

Derbyshire County League club Rolleston will host a Staffordshire senior fixture for the first time next year.

The club, situated on the outskirts of Burton-on-Trent impressed visiting county officials when staging a Staffordshire Development XI match against a touring Australian side in the summer.

Rolleston will provide the venue for Staffordshire’s Unicorns Twenty20 game against Lincolnshire on Sunday, June 3.

Staffordshire’s other opponents in their group are Cheshire, Northumberland and Cumberland.

Fixtures and venues in 2018:

Unicorns One Day Trophy

Sunday, May 20: Shropshire or Hereford (Himley).

Sunday, June 10: Norfolk or Bedfordshire (away).

Sunday, July 1: Semi-final at Leek (if Staffs progress).

Wednesday, August 29: Final at Wormsley.

Unicorns Twenty20 Cup

Monday, May 7: Cheshire (Knypersley).

Sunday, May 27: Northumberland (Jesmond).

Sunday, June 3: Lincolnshire (Rolleston).

Sunday, June 17: Cumberland (away).

Sunday, August 26: (Finals Day at Wormsley).

Unicorns Championship – Eastern Division

Sunday, June 24 – Tuesday, June 26: Suffolk (West Bromwich Dartmouth).

Sunday, July 8 – Tuesday, July 10: Cumberland (away).

Sunday, July 22 – Tuesday, July 24: Cambridgeshire (Checkley).

Sunday, August 5 – Tuesday, August 7: Norfolk (Manor Park).

Sunday, August 19 – Tuesday, August 21: Buckinghamshire (Longton).

Sunday, September 2 – Tuesday, September 4: Northumberland (South Northumberland).

Sunday, September 16 – Wednesday, September 14: Final at Banbury.