North Staffs Ken Lightfoot Phoenix 15 Cricket League

DEFENDING champions Cheadle opened their campaign  in the North Staffs Ken Lightfoot Phoenix 15 Cricket League with a 26 runs victory over Blythe.

Craig Smith (85) and Matthew Sellers (76 no) were the principal scorers as Cheadle rattled up 187-2.

Blythe made a flying start in reply through Matthew Goodwin scoring 78 runs off just 38 balls, before the Cheadle bowlers tightened their grip to limit their hosts to 161-6 at the close.

Results and highlights:-

Zone A

BETLEY 110-3 (Richard Walker 24no); AUDLEM COBRAS 110-3 (Andy Thorburn 33; Andy Rothwell 58). Audlem won by 4 wickets.

NORTON IN HALES 119-6 (Martyn Davies 27, Jack Furnival 64); NANTWICH 122-2 (Ben Johnston 56no, Robert Cook-Sievewright 41no). Nantwich won by 5 wickets.

Zone B

ELWORTH 99-5 (Alex Banks 41no); HASLINGTON 105 (Ben Istead 34, Tom Hackett 35no, Jack Taylor 22no). Haslington won by 2 wickets.

PORTHILL PARK 196-1 (Louis Allen 56, Josh Butler 100no, Tom Mason 27no); ALSAGER 86-6 (Ben Dixon 41). Porthill Park won by 110 runs.

Zone C

HEM HEATH 116-5 (Matthew Hodson 22, Ben Rogerson 32, Tom Hodson 26no); HANFORD 73-6 (Thomas Pitts 29, Muhammad Naveed 22no; Tom Lowe 3-15). Hem Heath won by 43 runs.

MEAKINS 76-7 (Peter Wilshaw 28; Sebastian Smith 3-21, Thomas Onions 3-25); NEWCASTLE & HARTSHILL 59-7. Meakins won by 17 runs.

Zone D

CHEADLE 187-2 (Craig Smith 85, Matthew Sellers 76no); BLYTHE 161-6 )Matthew Goodwin 78). Cheadle won by 26 runs.

MODDERSHALL & OULTON v STAFFORD (Stafford conceded). Moddershall & Oulton 5pts, Stafford 0.