Stone and District Cricket League: Five wickets for young Dan

ASHCOMBE Park schoolboy Dan Sutton stunned Stone and District League Premier Division champions-elect Little Stoke A by taking five wickets for just eight runs off six overs.

It was only the 12 year-old medium pace left arm bowler’s third appearance for the Ashcombe senior side and his first five-wicket haul at this level.

Sunday, September 9


Premier Division

LITTLE STOKE A 85 (Dan Sutton 5-8, Max Hill 3-22); ASHCOMBE PARK 77 (Aidan Derbyshire 29; Abid Hussain 3-45, Adil Javed 3-24). Little Stoke (25pts) beat Ashcombe Park (7pts) by 8 runs.

KNYPERSLEY 212-6 dec; MEAKINS 213-8. Meakins 925pts) beat Knypersley (9pts) by 2 wickets.

Section A South

CHEADLE 3rds 257-4 (Harry Degg 94no, Jack Degg (128no);ENDON 3rds 99 (Callum Dermott 36, Alexander Dutton 35; Jonathan Clowes 5-15). Cheadle 3rds (25pts) beat Endon 3rds (4pts) by 158 runs.

MODDERSHALL & OULTON 225-3 dec (Don Arachchi 23, Tharaka Jayawardane 61, Ishara Weerasinghe 100no); CAVERSWALL 84 (Andrew cartwright 27; Dhammika Premadsa 3-19). Moddershall & Oulton (25pts) beat Caverswall (0pts) by 141 runs.

LEEK DEVELOPMENT 204-2 dec (Kieran Carr 116no, Benjamin Turner 30, Nick Grubb 43); STONE SP 5ths 55 (Rory Corden 3-22, Luke Trafford 3-0). Leek Devevelopment (25pts) beat Stone SP 5ths by 149 runs.

CHECKLEY 182-4 (James Bennett 53, Thomas Carrigan 38, Jack Hammond 26, Ben Johnson 24no, Jacob Degg 28no); ECCLESHALL 3rds 154 (Callum Makerji 22, Jim Dowling 3-38, Jacob Degg 6-27). Checkley (25pts) beat Eccleshall 3rds (0pts) by 28 runs.

Section B North

BETCHTON 202-7 202-7 (G Simon 24, S Gifford 46, Rahagu Bhaskar 72, Tim Finney 30no); BAGNALL NORTON 4ths 9-6 (Ian Clowes 24no; S Gifford 4-24). Betchton (12pts) winning draw Bagnall Norton 4ths (5pts).

Section B South

ASHCOMBE PARK DEVELOPMENT 119 (Tom Davies 20, Tom Hinton 51; Mat Jackson 51); MODDERSHALL & OULTON DEVELOPMENT 123-2 (Tim Twigg 32no, Joe Mason 68no). Moddershall & Oulton Development (25pts) beat Ashcombe Park Development (0pts) by eight wickets.

BAGNALL NORTON 3rds 143-4 (Dave Porter 42, Daniel Gammon 40, Jak Meakin 22no); MEIR HEATH 146-8 (John Minister 72no; Sam Timmis 4-42). Meir Heath (20pts) beat Bagnall Norton 3rds (8pts) by 2 wickets.

Sunday, September 2

Hassell Trophy Final

MODDERSHALL & OULTON 150 (Dinesh Cooray 36; Robert Haydon 5-17); LEEK DEVELOPMENT 151-4 (Tim Tweats 73no). Leek Development won by 6 wickets.